Sea, Sail & Surf news

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000

Voiles de Saint-Tropez

Ikra wins the Rolex Trophy

Sebastian Destremau : "The boat has been having good results"

dimanche 3 octobre 2010Redaction SSS [Source RP]

Toutes les versions de cet article : [English] [français]

The 2010 edition of Les Voiles de Saint-Tropez concluded today with the prizegiving at La Citadelle, the 16th century fortress set imposingly overlooking the white-capped Golfe de Saint-Tropez. More than 1000 competitors and supporters gathered on a sunny, windy, beautiful fall day, as Andre Beaufils, President of the Les Voiles Organizing Committee presented awards with other dignitaries from Saint-Tropez and event sponsors.

The Rolex Trophy is a competition within the Tradition division for all boats over 16 metres on deck. The Trophy was first awarded in 2006, and this year 44 boats were eligible.

With seven Tradition classes in contention, there were many possibilities for winners. In the end it came down to two : the Herreshoff-designed NYYC 40 Rowdy, a tenacious competitor and past Rolex Trophy winner in 2008 and 2009, and the 12 meter, Ikra. Both had impeccable scorelines with four wins for the week. The tiebreak incorporated this year was a drawing between the two boats, and for 2010, the winner was Ikra.

Philippe Schaeffer, Director of Rolex France presented Ikra’s owner, Yves-Marie Morault, with the Rolex Trophy and Rolex Submariner timepiece. The Frenchman, who has owned Ikra since 2005, races on the boat with his wife Arlette and son Francois, and a close group of friends, including skipper Sebastian Destremau. Morault was quick to credit Destremau with their success and just as quick to present the Rolex watch to him. Destremau said, “The boat has been having good results, but this year has been sailing really well in Saint-Tropez, and since day one we’ve had the Rolex Trophy in mind. To finish well in St Tropez is always good, to finish with a win is fantastic, and to finish with a Rolex is even better !”

The 12 metre has a rich history with the event – it was in 1981 that Ikra’s then owner Jean Laurin sailed into Saint-Tropez and challenged the Swan 44 Pride to a race that became La Nioulargue and later Les Voiles de Saint-Tropez. Ikra was designed by David Boyd and built in Scotland in 1963 for Frank & John Livingston of the UK

The Rolex Trophy

The Rolex Trophy is awarded to the low point winner from the Tradition division boats that are more than 16 metres (length on deck). There were 44 boats eligible in this division in 2010. The Trophy was first awarded in 2006, past winners include :

2006 – So Fong, 25 metre Marconi-rigged schooner. Designed by the renowned naval architecture firm, Sparkman & Stephens and built in Hong Kong in 1937.

2007 – Agneta, 25 metre yawl, built in 1951. Agneta’s beautiful varnished mahogany hull and tanbark sails are unmistakable on the water.

2008 & 2009 – Rowdy, Herreshoff-designed NYYC 40 class. Commissioned by the New York Yacht Club, this design is 40 feet on the waterline (approx 65 ft LOA).

- PRess info regattanews /


Grands classiques :
- 1) Ikra - Yves-Marie Morault
- 2) Sagittarius - Frederic Laffitte
- 3) White Dolphin - Fabrice Payen

Petits Classiques
- 1) Maria Giovanna II - Jean Pierre Sauvan
- 2) Outlaw - Mike Horsley
- 3) Crazy Life - Bernard Olivieri

Epoque Marconi 1
- 1) Rowdy - Graham Walker
- 2) The Blue Peter - Michael Aalders
- 3) Oiseau de feu - Blaise Bernos

Groupe Marconi 2
- 1) Anne Sophie - Joerg Moessnang
- 2) Ludwig - Christian Dornier
- 3) Aile VI - Sylvain Ferri

Groupe Marconi 3
- 1) Cholita - Mary Linde Nettis
- 2) Mercury - Jordi Cabau
- 3) White Wings - Michael Sparks

Groupe Marconi 3
- 1) Windover – Olivier Poullain
- 2) Arrow – Phil Plumtree
- 3) Marguerite – David Myatt

Grands Epoque 1
- 1) Thendara - Peter Engels
- 2) Altair - Joe Pytka
- 3) Elena - Steve McLaren

Grands Epoque 2
- 1) Moonbeam IV - Mikael Creac’h
- 2) Tuiga - Bernard D’Alessandri
- 3) Mariquita - Jim Thom

Epoque Aurique 3
- 1) Kelpie - Olive Pelham
- 2) Marigold - Richard Glen Allan
- 3) Bonafide - Giuseppe Giordano

A la une