Sea, Sail & Surf news

Du grand large à la plage : Toute l’actualité des sports de glisse depuis 2000


MARTINIQUE SURF PRO 2015 : Victory for the Portuguese surfer Frederico Morais

lundi 25 avril 2016Redaction SSS [Source RP]

Toutes les versions de cet article : [English] [français]

Top class world surfers, the best waves possible, huge crowds enjoying the show. Everything came together on Sunday at Basse-Pointe for an exciting final day at the Martinique Surf Surf #Surf Pro. In the end, it was the Portuguese surfer Frederico Morais (24), who won the only Caribbean leg in the Qualifying Series (QS) in 2016. He won the final against the Spaniard, Gonzalo Zubizarreta (30). Eliminated in the semi-final, the Brazilian, Deivid Silva (21) and the Australian Luke Hynd (20) took joint third place. Thanks to these great performances in a QS 3,000 event, these four surfers will leap up the rankings of the world surf Surf #Surf qualifying circuit.

Frederico Morais (Portugal, 24), winner of the 2016 Martinique Surf Surf #Surf Pro : “That’s my first QS win and I’ve been waiting for this for a long time, it’s the best feeling ever ! My secret today was just to be relaxed and enjoy myself on some of the best waves I’ve ever had in a QS. This place is amazing, you can do airs, turns and big carves, you can’t ask for much more at a contest. That’s definitely motivating me to keep working hard and hopefully I can keep my momentum going.”

Gonzalo Zubizarreta (Spain, 30), 2nd in the 2016 Martinique Surf Surf #Surf Pro : “I think my last podium was in 2010 with my good friend Hodei Collazo and I got second there too, I really wanted to win this, but Frederico was surfing great so congrats to him ! My first visit in Martinique… it’s an amazing place, the people, the waves were really fun, the island is beautiful and I hope I can come back.”

The results of the 2016 Martinique Surf Pro (140 competitors) :

  • Winner : Frederico Morais (Portugal)
  • 2nd : Gonzalo Zubizarreta (Spain)
  • Joint 3rd (eliminated in the semi-finals) : Deivid Silva (Brazil) and Luke Hynd (Australia)
  • Joint fifth (eliminated in the quarter finals) : Jesse Mendes (Brazil), Ian Gouveia (Brazil), Slade Prestwich (South Africa) and Vasco Ribeiro (Portugal)
  • Joint ninth (eliminated in the sixth round) : Diego Mignot (France), Timothée Bisso (France), Alan Donato (Brazil), Charly Martin (France), Lucca Mesinas (Peru), Arizt Aranburu (Spain), Evan Geiselman (USA) and Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

A la une